Skip Navigation
*To search for student contact information, login to FlashLine and choose the "Directory" icon in the FlashLine masthead (blue bar).


Journalism, PR Students Win Akron Press Club Scholarships

Posted Apr. 14, 2014
JMC students won six of the seven scholarships awarded in 2014 by the Akron Press Club.

Four JMC students won John S. Knight scholarships, given in memory of the long-standing Akron Beacon Journal editor. The Knight scholars are junior journalism major Celia Fernandez, junior journalism major Carley Hull, sophomore journalism major Emily Mills and senior journalism major Madeleine Winer. Each will receive a $5,000 scholarship.

Senior public relations major Meghan Caprez was named the Ludel Sauvageot scholar, given in memory of the well-known and respected public relations professional, author, educator and and award-winning journalist. Caprez will receive a $5,000 scholarship.

Junior journalism major Lyndsey Schley was also selected by the Akron Press Club for its $5,000 scholarship.

These students will be recognized at a luncheon hosted by the Press Club on April 25.