Skip Navigation
*To search for student contact information, login to FlashLine and choose the "Directory" icon in the FlashLine masthead (blue bar).

Progression Standards & Course Sequence

Kent State University at East Liverpool Occupational Therapy Assistant Program suggested sequence of courses by semester for completion of the program in a two-year period.


Course Number Course Title Credit Hour


Summer Semester
*BSCI 11010  Anatomy & Physiology I for Allied Health 3

= 3 Credit Hours

Fall Semester
OCAT 10010
 Professionalism in Healthcare
* KENT CORE  Kent Core Composition 3
*BSCI 11020  Anatomy and Physiology II for Allied Health 3
*PSYC 11762  General Psychology 3
*OCAT 10000  Foundation in Occupational Therapy 2
OCAT 10003  OT Practice Skills 1
 *SOC 12050  Intro to Sociology  3
*US 10001  Destination Kent State First Year Experience 1

= 17 Credit Hours

Spring Semester
PTST 10002  Analysis of Movement 4
*PSYC 21211 or  PSYC 40111  Psychology of Adjustment or Abnormal Psychology 3
*NURS 20950  Human Growth and Development 3
OCAT 10001  OT Practice Skills II 3
OCAT 10002  Therapeutic Techniques I (Psychosocial) 4
OCAT 10092  Therapeutic Techniques Fieldwork 1-A 1

= 18 Credit Hours



Summer Semester
OCAT 20000  Therapeutic Techniques II (Physical Dysfunction I) 4
OCAT 20003  OT Practice Skills III 3
OCAT 20092  Therapeutic Techniques Fieldwork 1-B 1


= 8 Credit Hours

Fall Semester
* KENT CORE  Kent Core Mathematics and Critical Reasoning 3
OCAT 20004  Therapeutic Techniques III (Developmental Disabilities) 3
OCAT 20006  Therapeutic Techniques IV (Physical Dysfunction II) 3
OCAT 20001  Professional Issues 2
* KENT CORE  Kent Core Humanities and Fine Arts 3

= 14 Credit Hours 

Spring Semester
OCAT 20192  Clinical Applications 4
OCAT 20292  Clinical Applications II 4
OCAT ELECTIVE  OCAT 21095 or OCAT 10004 1-4

= 9 Credit Hours


* Indicates the open enrollment courses. These courses can be taken prior to admission to the OCAT program. Completion of these courses does not guarantee admission into the OCAT program. However, completion and level of achievement in the courses are considered during the admission-selection process.

Students are responsible for knowing admission, progression and graduation requirements for the OCAT Program. The OCAT Program is designed as a sequential learning experience. Each new course builds on knowledge and skills acquired in the previous course; therefore, OCAT courses should be taken in their designated order.

In order to progress in the program, all prerequisites must be satisfactorily completed. Students must earn a grade of "C" (2.0) or better in all OCAT technical and non-technical courses. Any OCAT or related (above) course receiving a grade below a "C" must be repeated the next semester it its offered, provided space is available. A student may only repeat an OCAT course one time. The student who fails to receive a passing grade of "C" or better in the repeated course will be dismissed from the OCAT Program and will not be eligible for readmission into the OCAT Program. The student may not progress to additional OCAT courses and Level II fieldwork affiliations, until they receive a "C" (2.0) or better in the repeated course, and successfully complete Level I fieldwork assignment. Any student who fails to progress 2 times will be dismissed from the program. Any student earning a letter grade less than a "C" (2.0) in two OCAT courses in the same semester will be dismissed from the program and not eligible for readmission.

To remain in the program a minimal cumulative GPA of 2.0 must be maintained. Failure to maintain a cumulative GPA of 2.0 or higher will result in dismissal from the program.